Are 5Th Gens Really The "best" Of The Vfr's?

marriedman

I want to establish that this is not another 5th Gen vs 6th gen thread. Well, at least I don't want it to be one. I think we can all agree that popular opinion states that the 5th gen was the pinnacle of VFR's. The perfect balance of sport and touring. And again, popular opinion is that the 6th gen was more refined and more touring than sport. I have found that most of the pictures that I have saved on my computer are of 6th gens rather than 5th.

I am still a relatively new rider. I have only had 3 years of riding experience. I started on a 250, moved up to a 750 Nighthawk and finally my 99. The 250 was great at learning the basics of motorcycling. The 750 was perfect at letting me discover what kind of rider I wanted to be. The 5th gen VFR is almost the perfect bike for me. There were many factors on the reason I purchased my VFR. Primarily because of the popular opinion that the 5th gen were "the best". The rest of the reasons apply to both the 5th and 6th gens. Now that I am getting more serious about riding, I am finding that some of my notions were based upon opinion and not fact.