Good Earplug Video

Belfry

• Member Contributer

I'm one of those who uses earplugs every time I ride. I didn't use them as a teenager riding dirt bikes, but I have ever since I started riding on the street. I had an ear infection years ago that caused me to lose some range in my right ear, so I want to preserve what's left as long as possible. Also, I find it more relaxing on long rides to be free of the wind noise and I can still hear bike sounds, cars and other noises without too much difficulty. I've never invested in custom earplugs, preferring to buy the foam ones in bulk. At the moment I'm halfway through a box of 200 pairs of 3M E-A-R plugs that I bought online for a good price. As a certified 'cheap bastige,'(complete with some Scottish blood) I can sometimes get two or three days out of one pair of disposables before I notice that they aren't expanding as they should, or l lose or drop one.

I recently came across a video (below) by E-A-R that shows the proper technique for insertion. I have to admit, for many years I was just cramming them in. Then I learned about rolling them, which helped a lot, then about pulling on the ear to straighten the canal. My take-away from the video is that I should be compressing them even more than I usually do.

• Member Contributer

I started wearing ear plugs a while back but have had my time under the sun without them. It wasn't until later in life did I start to notice the discomfort when not wearing ear plugs, when I did not have any available. Although every now and then I use the foam plugs, I switched to 'mighty plugs', which are more pliable and "tunable" than conventional foam plugs. They're made of beeswax and cotton and are absolutely the most comfortable earplugs I've ever worn. www.earplugsonline.com

Although the video more or less showed what I already knew, it was good confirmation and reinforcement of how to properly install and wear earplugs, so thanks for posting.

Cheers

• Member Contributer