Talk Some Sense Into Me (Or Encouage Me, Your Choice)- Newbie On A 1200 + 1000 Mile Inaugural Ride?

Guest SuperslabRider

Guest SuperslabRider

Hi folks, nice forum you have here. Been lurking for a little while, but I've read about everything I can get my hands on, so I figured it's time to actually join the discussion. Sorry, this got a little long.

I'm a mid-30s guy who is in the process of trading a wife for guns and a motorcycle. So far, it's been a fair trade, and a helluva lot more fun. :goofy: I have very little riding experience- mostly limited to bombing around a friend's farm on a < 250 dirt bike as a teenager. I'm scheduled to take my MSF class next week. That said, I feel like the days where I'm going to kill myself on a fast bike or otherwise be needlessly unsafe or irresponsible are behind me, so I'm seriously considering jumping straight into a nice bike for my first.

Obviously, I'm here because the VFR1200 has risen to the top of my short list. I haven't test ridden anything yet, but I have sat on just about everything appealing, and between that and what I've read, I think the VFR is for me. I'm a bigger guy (6'1, 270), so I have no interest in hunching over on a true sportbike, but I'm not ready for a Goldwing. People seem to whine that the VFR is compromised, but the niche it creates between sport and touring is right where I want to be. Besides, I'm a bit of a Honda whore, having driven Honda and Acura cars pretty much exclusively for the last 10+ years. There is one used VFR that's at a dealership near me that's available for a test ride, but it's a DCT, which I won't buy. My plan is to take care of my MSF class, then ride it, just to be sure the overall experience works. Assuming I get that far, it's onto the next step...