Wanted - Tools & Tips For Head Bearing Replacement 5Th Gen

marriedman

After being sidetracked for a while, I believe I will be able to start the head bearing replacement on my 99. I have mentioned before that I am relatively new to motorcycles and extremely new to wrenching. So I am not the most knowledgeable about tools either. I read HS guide on how to do it, however there was some information missing.

The Steering Stem Nut (part #90304-MJ4-670) size isn't listed. What size socket do I need for that?

HS said he used a metal rod to hammer out the races, is this a special tool or just a spare piece of metal? Also seating the bearings he mentions using bearing hammer. Don't have one of those either, is there a substitute? On the new tapered rollers, he packs them with grease. What kind of grease do you use?

Actually, after typing this out I am beginning to wonder if I should have this done. The cost of buying the tools might be the same as having a pro do it. Thoughts?

• Member Contributer

You don't need a socket for the nut. It can be turned using screw driver and a hammer - Not much tension there at all.

When knocking the races out, be VERY patient and make light taps all around the perimeter of the race. Otherwise it will tilt too much and you'll be removing aluminum from the frame.

I did not use special bearing hammer yo install the new races. I ground down one of the old ones to decrease its external diameter and used it to drive the new ones in. Same light tapping procedure applies here as well.

All in all, it isn't rocket science. AHEM... I did it... ahem..

Good luck.

• Member Contributer

It's not the easiest job, but it's not super complicated either. The big points to the job are making sure you hammer the old races out evenly, and put the new ones in evenly as well. If you get them crooked, you may damage the aluminum in the frame where the bearing races sit.