Stolen, Then Recovered

Yep, someone stole my new to me VFR from my work parking garage today. I've been parking motorcycles there for 6 years now and never have had anyone mess with them, but my luck ran out today.

A lot of people who ride to my work park in the same spot, its really a walkway from one level to another but it's wide enough for several motorcycles and nobody minds us parking there. So I was at work and the head security guy came in and told me someone stole my VFR today. Apparently, the security guard that patrols the parking garage noticed my motorcycle was gone earlier than usual, and that another one had been moved. So they looked at the security footage and figured it out. Two guys in a stolen truck lifted it into the back, damaging the fairings pretty badly in the process, and just drove off with it. Then, the local police saw a nice motorcycle in a shitty truck, laying on it's side and unsecured. They thought it was odd and lit the guys up. The thieves then tried to run but got the truck stuck in a yard and ran on foot. Unfortunately they escaped.

So I still have my VFR due to a few observant people, to whom I'm quite grateful. Tomorrow it's off to the dealer for repairs and I'm out some riding time and the insurance deductible.

Now to figure out a good way to secure it in the future...

The retrieval, I'm the big tall guy in white :cool:

null_zps793eeba2.jpg

null_zps2a8ca04a.jpg

null_zps56b3ecb4.jpg

null_zps9d37d1af.jpg

The damage

null_zps064ae08c.jpg

null_zpsa1431281.jpg

null_zps9150168f.jpg

null_zpse0c4a79b.jpg

null_zps6b6faae3.jpg

null_zps2ea9730c.jpg

null_zpsed9a0fa7.jpg

What kind of godless bastard does that? Man I hate theives. Now you get to come out of pocket for doing nothing wrong. Chin up, you'll be back out there on it in no time.

That sucks. No, wait. That rocks. Uh, actually I think it sucks. Very sorry to hear about it. Also sorry to hear those scumbags got away.