Strapping stuff down

tc339

So Im taking a trip next month and doing some moto camping for about 3 weeks. Im new at this whole thing and literally have no idea how to strap everything down. :huh: I did a quick search and didnt come up with much.

I have the OEM hardbags for my 6th gen. as well as a Cortech sports tailbag (which I also havent figured out how to strap down.) Ill have a tent, sleeping bag, foam pad, and all that good stuff. I think I am going to stuff it all in a drybag so it will all be together.

my main question is what straps do you use, and how do you strap everything down to the tail?

One thing you need is a sidestand disc to rest your stand on when on the dirt(or hot pavement).......... and attach a string to it long enough to be seated on the bike, then lift the bike off the stand and pull the disc up and put in tank bag.......

• Member Contributer

best for me is the cargo net things, you can link up more than one to extend range of what you need to tie down....

That's what I use. See avatar.

• Member Contributer

GET ROKSTRAPS ™ forget any other kind of straps!! They are the best straps to use on a motorbike,bar none. MCN has always rated them the best. Once you use them you will not use anything else. One bloke used them to tie a water heater to his bike to get it home. Try that with bungee straps. No kidding.post-19304-0-30964100-1337717626.jpg

See those blue waterproof duffle bags , each one is FIRMLY held down by two rokstraps.

• Member Contributer

One word of caution is that if you use a regular long narrow tent bag, make sure your poles can't slide out of the middle along the way. I know some one (no not me) that arrived at his destination with a tent minus his poles!

awesome. thanks for the tips! I have one more question though.

Where do you guys actually connect either like the straps or the cargo net. like what do you hook it to. I havent actually tried for myself yet, but just looking around I didnt see much to hook it to.