Why the "buzz" about aftermarket exhaust?

slooman

I'm now going to show my complete ignorance on a topic:

What is the big draw to aftermarket exhaust systems? I've always kept my bikes stock so I'm clueless (I actually LIKE the look of the exhaust on the 1200). Is it just for the sound? Is it added horsepower? Is it better response/performance?

I'm getting the feeling I'm missing the boat here. Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

• Member Contributer

I cant speak for the 1200, but the Kerker that I have on my 90, and the TBR models I have seen/heard make the bike sound to me like a late70s/early 80s Camaro. An old Chevy small block 350. I usually like the looks of aftermarket stuff better, as well. I am an engineer (sort of), and really like stainless steel. I have a stainless pen that rides in my shirt (pocket or on the flap between buttons) *every* day. I always have a pen; the stainless doesn't break, or get ugly...you get it. If you like your stocker - KEEP it!! I personally would want a lefty or an undertail to show off the trick swingarm (my 90 has a Kerker Left exit, and when I get it completely restored, I have a full Two Brothers Stainless unit for it - Left exit as well).

That's how most people feel, they want a sound or a look...if you like yours, you are way ahead of the rest of us poor (getting poorer from farkling) sods in my opinion.

Cheers!

In my case, it was 60 % for sound, 40 % for looks. If you can appreciate the sound of the beloved internal combustion engine, putting an exhaust on your VFR is about as good as it gets. (errr, that was until Honda made a 76 degree V on the 1200). On the 6th gen, it looks much cleaner and there is a small weight loss on the rear end. All good things

• Member Contributer

Typically an after market exhaust has the following benefits:

• Custom look
  • louder than stock
  • increased flow
  • decreased weight