Single front brakes conversion on 4th gen

Guest roman

Question

Guest roman

I'm thinking of converting my front brakes from dual disc to single disc, mostly for aesthetics, since I'm stripping and polishing my rims and want more of it to 'show'.

I'm no engineer but I do know that the brakes work by converting kinetic energy into dissipated heat, so dualies just 'share the load' as can dissipate more heat at the same time. This is good if you need lots of constant high speed heavy braking action (like racetrack or canyon riding), but for normal everyday street riding -- which is all I do-- it's probably over-engineered. There's plenty of bikes out there that got away with single front disc brakes; such as the Hawk NT650, Yamaha GTS1000, not to mention those hand built Harley choppers with no front brakes at all (which looks great but is a bad idea)...

It looks like it wouldn't be hard to do: Just cap off the extra line and remove the caliper/disc.

Now is there any reason why I shouldn't do this?

21 answers to this question

Racetrack, canyon, or how about stopping in an emergency??

Most people look for MORE braking power, NOT less... sorry sir, can't support you in your venture.

If you paint your rotor carriers black to cover the factory gold, your wheels will "pop" more and you can keep both discs...

There's plenty of bikes out there that got away with single front disc brakes; such as the Hawk NT650, Yamaha GTS1000,

The brakes on those bikes were designed to be used in a single disc setup (GTS disc is 1 3/4" larger in diameter). By just removing a brake caliper you will not only half the stopping power but also more than half the feel. Give your insurance company a call and see how thrilled they are with your idea of removing half the brake system :laughing6-hehe:

IMHO This is a bad idea.

• Member Contributer