First Ride On My Vfr...and A Scary One

Guest hyphen

So I hopped on my bike for the first time. I've never been on the street but I got my permit and passed my basic riding course with msf. My friend asked if I wanted to go "putt" around last night. I agreed since I've been really anxious to ride. Wow was I in for a surprise.

His idea of "putting" around involved going onto a freeway then straight onto a canyon to the beach, make a round-about back to another canyon that lead back to his garage...at 9:30pm. May I remind you that this is my first time on the road, let alone on this 500lb bike. I probably did everything that a first time rider SHOULDN'T do. Granted, I took it slow in the canyons and I had 2 very experienced riders to my front and back, still. Not to mention there were strong gusts of wind that were pushing me around and almost made me cut a corner short.

Though, I have to say that I didn't regret it one bit. I know now what the addiction is. Feeling the cool canyon air, the beach smell...amazing. In case anyone is wondering, we went through Topanga Canyon to Malibu and then cut back through Las Virgenes.

I did surprisingly well for a first timer, I think. But it's definitely not something I would recommend.

• Member Contributer

Congrats on the addiction! It's the healthiest of them all, or so I'm told. :salesman:

I think we've all felt like we've 'bitten' off a little more than we can chew when we starting riding at one point or another. As long as you focus on riding within your own comfort level and do not try to keep up with the other riders, you'll do just fine. Keep focusing on all that the class drilled into your head and it will all become second nature before you know it. Just use your head and ride smart/safe!

(BTW, I really like your friends idea of putting around! Maybe not for including a newbie on a ride like that for your very first time on the street though...)