hellllllllp disaster has struck!exhaust stud snapped

Guest stevekingchef

Guest stevekingchef

Hi guys

Well 3 hours into my project and I've managed to snap two exhaust bolts.

I am completly at a loose end.

a complete novice and have no idea to do.

Any advise greatly recived

post-22821-278128_thumb.jpg

Doesn't look that bad. Keep going you need to get the exhaust off so you can clamp onto the remainder of the stud. When you try to remove it you need to heat the aluminum first; lots of heat quickly. The aluminum will expand the steel will not and with moderate pressure it will turn. Don't break off what's left or it will get worse. You are not too far up the creek yet.

• Member Contributer

Just in case you don't have heat, you can always soak it down with some PB Blaster or something similar and let it set for a few... keep soaking it down. Also, now might be a good time to go to Sears or something similar and get a set of Stud Extractors. Worth their weight in gold as I have practically worn mine out.

• Member Contributer

Just in case you don't have heat, you can always soak it down with some PB Blaster or something similar and let it set for a few... keep soaking it down. Also, now might be a good time to go to Sears or something similar and get a set of Stud Extractors. Worth their weight in gold as I have practically worn mine out.

+1.gif

The past two posts are great advice. Keep going. Get the exhaust off, then try. Lefty loosey may not be correct for exhaust studs...can't remember for certain. Look it up (manual is on this site for download). You will be OK. Not a disaster. Stud extractor, ez-out, something along those lines.

CHeers!

• Member Contributer

IF you have access to a welder, you can also weld a nut onto it, and try removing it that way, also.. Either way, good luck.

• Member Contributer