Tire Choice

Guest Jfox855

I'm new to the VFRs (but have had Crusers for awhile) and need to replace the Dunlop 208's on the bike. I've read most of the tires reviews but still can't make up my mind. Some factors are I still have a cruser for when I want to feel like I'm sitting in an easy chair, so I want tires that perform well and will go 3000-4000 miles. I don't need a 10000 mile tire , but I figure I'll ride the VFR about 2000 miles a year aggressively, so I'm looking for two year tires. I like to stay dry, so no rainy days for me. What you guys(and girls) think?

• Member Contributer

Some of the more popular sport touring tires I've seen being used with the VFR are:

(In no particular order)

Avon Storm ST

Continental Road Attack

Michelin Pilot Road 2

I've heard good things about all the tires above and it seems they will all achieve your desired mileage as long as you don't ride super aggresive the majority of the time.

I got a smoking hot deal from http://www.derbycycles.com/ on the Michelin's. Getting them mounted soon and can't wait!

Regards,

Rollin

Pilot Road 2 CTs!!

The perfect tires for a "sporting gentleman's" bike that sometimes like to be "spanked" hard!!

Had Dunlop 208s before I got the PR2CTs and the handling difference is like Looney Toons to Handel's Messiah!

Like the ole 95 is new again!

Beck

95 VFR

• Member Contributer
I'm new to the VFRs (but have had Crusers for awhile) and need to replace the Dunlop 208's on the bike. I've read most of the tires reviews but still can't make up my mind. Some factors are I still have a cruser for when I want to feel like I'm sitting in an easy chair, so I want tires that perform well and will go 3000-4000 miles. I don't need a 10000 mile tire , but I figure I'll ride the VFR about 2000 miles a year aggressively, so I'm looking for two year tires. I like to stay dry, so no rainy days for me. What you guys(and girls) think?

I've had good luck with Michelin Pilot Powers and Pilot Powers 2CT

Jack