Thinking Of Buying A 96' Vfr As My First Bike.

Guest Jb13

Hello all,

My name is John and I am complete newbie when it comes to two wheels. Sure I grew up messing around on dirt bikes and quads, but never ever dabbled in street bikes. Since my office is only about three miles from home I had this crazy idea to get into riding. It would save on gas, and because I live in AZ, there are no seasons or "weather" to ever worry about.

A coworker of mine over heard me talking about getting into riding and it turns out the guy that services our printers is an avid rider, and just happens to have a 96' VFR w/ 41,000 miles that he would be willing to part with. So I stopped by his place last night and took a look at the bike. Its pretty clean given its age, some of the plastics on the right side could use some love, and the entire bike could use a once over, but overall I would say its a solid 7 out of 10, from what I can see. He has told me that he had the valves checked and they are within spec, also that the front tire would need to be replaced soon. Thats it.

Now as I said I am a complete newbie rider. I would more than likely sign up for safety classes, and just get out and practice, as much as I could. I figured this place would be the best place to start, and learn as much about this bike before pulling the trigger.

Here is some quick phone pics of the bike:

IMG955286_zpsaa4e553c.jpg

IMG955859_2_zps5b5574e5.jpg

My questions would be:

• What are known problems with the VFR, specifically this generation?
  • Problems with higher milage VFR's?
  • Is there anything I should look out for when buying a VFR?
  • Could I maintain this bike on my own for the most part?
  • Would this make a good first/learning bike?
  • How much should I be looking to pay given the information above.

I appreciate everyones input in advance, I hope to continue to learn more and more about this bike.

Thanks,

-John

• Member Contributer

3 miles is less than 5 clicks