Gear for a broke new rider

newrider

Hey all, first of just wanna say how helpful this forum has been so far! I bought my 1997 vfr750 mainly by trade because honestly, im a broke college student whose supporting himself and has always loved the vfr! I begged and bartered for my bike and was finally able to get it! Now I was curious if anyone had suggestions on where to get decent gear for cheap; like a helmet and jacket with some pads mainly. I've been borrowing a helmet from a buddy but obviously I can't do that for ever... He's gonna want it back... So if you have any suggestions or if you're looking to sell a helmet size medium or a jacket in medium as well let me know! Seriously in desperate need 

• Member Contributer

If there are any tracks near you that host track days, see if you can find a message board where they hang out or simply attend one and ask around.  There are certainly at least a few riders who have slightly rashed up leather they don't use any longer (or have upgraded), or they've put on a few pounds over the years and it no longer fits.  Post up a 'wanted to buy' (and do the same on C/L) and your phone may not stop ringing. 

• Member Contributer

Apart from the typical used gear outlets, CL, eBay, I like to peruse the closeout sections of some of the online retailers. The only issue with these places, is not being able to try on the gear. This is most crucial with helmets, however a lot of good quality gear can be had at good prices.

Here are some of the places to check out online, if that appeals to you at all.

www.motorcyclegear.com (They even have a consignment section. I.e. Used gear from customers)

www.compacc.com

www.sportbiketrackgear.com

www.revzilla.com

• 1 month later...

I went to the dealership close by and tried on jackets, gloves, and helmets.  took photos of the tags of the ones I liked and sizes.  jumped on ebay and amazon.  Found what I was looking for and purchased.