Greetings From New Zealand

thecat

hi

Just want to say what a great site for VFRs. I signed up a while ago but this is my first post.

I started riding many, many years ago, but returned to the sport in 2010. Owned a number of bike since -- Ducati ST2, Yamaha Fz6, Honda CB1300 and a Suzuki 1250S Bandit.

My riding buddy since 2010 had a 1999 red VFR 800 and I wish i has paid more attention to him now about what a great bike it was. But being vertically challenged, i never got onto his bike for a trial. I rode a first gen VF750F interceptor in 1984 and there were too many issues with the bike though i liked riding it.

Anyway, in March, I stumbled on a yellow VFR that looked in good condition though it had 110,000km on the clock. As it was from another part of the country I couldn't physically check it out -- but it had an Ohlins rear shock, Staintune high exhaust, and it was going cheap. So i hit the buy button and the PO sent it down.

Well, having done some maintenance and riding it fairly regularly, learning its characteristics -- you guys are right -- it is a superb machine. I love riding it and my wife is happy pilloning. Within a week of getting onto it, we did a three-day ride from Wellington to Rotorua and then did the Coromandel loop -- plenty of twists and turns -- and it performed faultlessly.

Recently, the stator got fried so it has a new one put in -- but the technician said all of the relevant plugs to R/R and so on were in good shape. I looked myself and the plugs looked uncompromised. Only one little wire from one of the 30amp fuses was frayed and the exposed wire oxidiesed so i cut it and soldered and bit of wire and wrapped it up.