Soldering Tips

jaimev34

• Member Contributer

I'm planning on installing a rear brake light modulator (Signal Dynamics - Back Off, to be exact) and I plan on doing it right by using a soldering iron. I usually do it the half-assed way, which is to remove the rubber sheath from each wire, then twist the wires and wrap the connected wires with electrical tape.

My questions are, being that I'm a soldering novice: where is a good place to buy a soldering iron? Do I need one with a temperature control? What would be the proper way of soldering something like this?

Thanks in advance!

UPDATE: I just got done soldering some wires from a radar detector to my license plate light wires!! First time soldering and it worked.

If you've got a Radio Shack (or whatever they're calling it these days) just get a cheap 35 watt soldering iron and some rosin core solder. Practice on some lamp cord or junk copper wire you've got lying around until you can get a nice bright joint with no dry or lumpy spots. If you search the internet there are plenty of soldering tutorials to help.

• Member Contributer

^^^^ Thanks Seb, soldering is one thing that drives me wacko, I usually make a mess of it. :laughing6-hehe:

^^^^ Thanks Seb, soldering is one thing that drives me wacko, I usually make a mess of it. :laughing6-hehe:

As the saying goes...practice makes perfect.

• Member Contributer

I use butane soldering iron. No electicity to worry about and it develops enough heat to heat up any thickness of wire, which is typically a problem with electric iron.

Before twisting the two wires together, I dip them in flux - the one sold for plumbing. That way once heated up, the solder penetrates all threads and sticks immediately.

The whole procedure takes seconds. then the joint can be wrapped with electical tape.

I dip them in flux - the one sold for plumbing.