Looking To Buy 1st Vfr

Guest ride4ever

Guest ride4ever

Hey all - I'm a newbie to the VFR forum and I'm looking for some advice.

I'm looking to buy a 6th generation VFR-probably an 03 or 04 if I can find the right one. One that I'm considering taking a look at is an '03 ABS with 51k miles on it. I'll be honest, I don't know much about these bikes but should I be concerned with mileage that high?? What things should I look for to make sure I'm not getting screwed on the deal? The guy's asking $4,700 (which I think is way to high) what might be a good number to offer him for a bike with this kind of mileage? He's the 2nd owner but hasn't put any miles on it - apparently he buys bikes flip them as a second job. He say's the 1st owner put all the miles on it.

How long do the chain and sprockets typically last on these bikes? What other kind of costly maintenance might I be looking forward to in the next 10-20k miles?

The mods that it has are:

-Staitune pipes

-Rear wheel hugger

-Gravity zero screen

Any and ALL help will be greatly appreciated!!! smile.gif

I'm not afraid of a properly maintained high mileage VFR. Many have been known to go well over 100,000 miles and even more than that. You should be able to look the bike over and tell whether or not it has been well cared for. $4,700 is way high. That's the cool thing about these bikes the value goes to nothing after they become high mileage, but they still may be great bikes. Knock a grand off his asking price and you have a deal.

its worth whatever the guy can get for it, but if you can ride away for 4 large, i would say it was equitable. the mileage should not be an issue, as it says "honda" on the tank.

but remember, it is the end of most people's riding season, so you have some leverage. 3500 would be a home run.

if it is flat black, give him more than he is asking!