Tire Wear Or Lack Of?

backonabike

• Member Contributer

Ok let me start off by saying that I don't want to start any "my tire is better than your tire thread", But I do have some questions. As you can see by my handle I'm new to riding after a long hiatus (13 years), and I was just looking at a recent thread about tire wear and in the pics of the tires being discussed said tires look absolutely cooked, showing cord and what not. I know this is possible as I have worn out tires in my day as well, But it seems like the mileage claims (3-4.5K) are pretty low for this type of wear. I'm running Battlaxe Bt020's and have put about 3k on them and have not found them to be wearing anywhere near what was in those pics. Now I also know that some of you guys ride much faster than I do so I'm not doubting anyones claims, But to kill a tire like that in 3K or so wouldn't you have to be riding like Nicky Hayden??? Or am I just running a harder compound/ sport touring oriented tire and if so is the difference in grip between the grippy tires and the sport touring skins so great that a middle of the road rider like myself would see a big benefit. I do like to push a bit but as of yet have not dragged anything or slid a tire in a corner. Sorry for the long winded question, But it's Sunday and i had some time to Kill. Keep the Rubber side down Fred

• Member Contributer

There are a lot of factors in tire wear. One of the biggest is the type of tire. 020s are a pretty hard ST tire that will last a LOT longer than any sport tire will. Some of the other important factors are, how hard you are using the tire, weight, tire pressure, road temperature, road construction, etc.

If you try out a sport tire you will love it. It is not just the higher grip, but the tire profile is much better and you will go faster and have higher confidence. The price, obviously is reduced tread life, but depending on how you ride, it is more than worth it for many people.