Need Help Removing Fuel Injectors On A 99 Vfr

Guest djeffreys10

Guest djeffreys10

Back story: A friend of mine wrecked this bike back in 2010, and I let him park it in my storage unit. It cranked when it was parked, but fuel was left in the tank. He recently gave it to me instead of some money he owed me, I figured it would be fun to have a project that wouldn't take my main bike off the road. And it would be a great learing experiene. I replaced all the bits damaged in the wreck, and all it would do is turn over. Fuel pump primes. I swapped out the spark plugs, and now when I turn it over it sounds like one cylinder is firing. It just won't crank. So now I am pulling the injectors to soak them in either Seafoam or denatured alcohol and hopefully clean them out. Got the air box off, but it's looking like I have to remove the throttle bodies to get to the bolts holding on the fuel rails. I am an electrical engineer, so this stuff isn't exactly my strong point. I don't want to accidentally cause a lot of extra work for myself, so I am just at a position where I don't feel comfortable going any further without seeing step by step instructions. The friend is a major VFR guy, and he recomended I bring any questions to this forum. So I am here.

Long story short, I have searched but can't find instructions on pullling the injectors on a 5th gen VFR, only a 6th gen. Which isn't helpful. Can any of you point me in the right direction? It would be most appreciated.

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

He should be along shortly, but I believe Kaldek knows the procedure cold. In the meantime, consider searching for Kaldek and fuel injector in case he's posted it previously.

That's actually the guide I found for a sixth generation. But the fifth generation fuel rails are mounted completely different, and I can not find a way to access the bolts without removing the throttle bodies.

• Member Contributer