Why Are Frame Sliders Not Popular For Vfrs?

Guest 23sigma

Question

Guest 23sigma

I'm fairly new to VFRs but I've noticed that most of the bikes here do not have frame sliders. Is there a particular reason for this? Coming from a SS bike, everyone seemed to have sliders...

I searched around and found Oggy Knob Sliders to be pretty good. Are they worth the $300?

• Member Contributer

To answer the $300 question here is a post on their capabilities. http://www.vfrdiscussion.com/forum/index.php/topic/75005-do-oggy-knob-frame-sliders-workyes-they-do/?hl=knobs

Not sure why they are not as popular as on SS bikes, as the cost to replace fairings on these bikes can be pricey. I was thinking about getting the Oggy knobs for my '09, but decided to get other mods done as well as acquire other needed items first. Most of the other options do require cutting the fairings.

• Member Contributer

I think the main reason is that most options require cutting the fairings. I know at least three members here who have purchased frame sliders and have been a little shy to install them when they start to think about cutting into their pristine fairings. (quite understandably).

The no-cut option definitely makes it a lot more tenable.

and if you do happen to drop the bike they would damage the alloy frame and the insurance would right it off

Interesting comment. I wonder how true this is.

Maybe I should just get ebay fairings and keep the stock fairing stored at home. If anything happens the ebay fairings will be cheap to replace. But the side mounted radiators won't be cheap to fix.