Tire Pressure Tuning

Guest Jawbone

Guest Jawbone

So I have had my used VFR for a few months. I have methodically checked everything over and have had a chance to play with my PCV mapping and suspension setup. I am happy with where the bike is now.

That being said, I see a lot of posts where people have a strong option on tire pressure and it’s effects on handing. As another knob, I would like to play around and gain insight on how you have come to the numbers you are posting. I have been running 36F/42R on some Battlax BT-023’s commuting every day so I have started to know the feel. Today I dropped to 34F/40R. I want to say it felt a little gripper but it was not drastic. Also it was about 10 degrees colder on the way into work today(45F) so it hard to make any conclusions.

Why do you not use the recommended 36F/42R in the manual? Is there a general rule for tire pressures? Does lowering it a little give you better grip?

Yes in case the jokes are coming, I am an engineer and need to fiddle with knobs constantly. I need a support group.

Thanks

Jeff

• Member Contributer

Yes, lower pressures provide better grip, to a point. 36/42 should be optimal for a compromise between grip and extending the life of the tires. You can drop a few psi to find the sweet spot for max grip, but just be aware that the tires will wear quicker.

Going too low on the pressure will result in the tires getting squirmy, or worse, hot and then greasy feeling. Going lower than the sweet spot will result in drastically rapid wear. Going way too low will cause the tires to get too hot and potentially fail.

• Member Contributer

Engineer prepare for the plethora of belly button opinions (everybody's got one) on tire pressure.

I say listen to Trace (but only because his opinion agrees with mine).

I think it is in this thread http://www.vfrdiscussion.com/forum/index.php/topic/54334-whats-the-diff-between-a-p-power-and-a-p-road-2/#entry642826

• Member Contributer