What tools do and do not need to be quality?

Teacher

Hear ye hear ye all gearheads!

I'm trying to build my garage with useful things, such as tools. I'm curious as to what quality tools you guys think I should pay a good (read deserved - a.k.a. "you get what you pay for") price for. For example, I know that you get a much better, more accurate, and longer lasting torque wrench if you pay the hefty price for quality. On the other end of the spectrum, I've seen Harbor Freight generic wrenches last a good while, and you don't have to sell your lung for it.

What other examples can you come up with for both lists. I'm no super mechanic, but here's my opinionated list:

Quality Tools - Pay more because you need it to do the job right:

- torque wrench

- hex wrench set

- beer

Lower Quality - They are a dime a dozen and their function just gets the job done.

- screwdriver set

- box wrenches

- stool

- beer

Okay, okay, so beer is not a tool, but you get buzzed/drunk in the end and you can't tell if it's quality or not anyway, right?

And as you all already know, don't drink and ride!

- teacher

I would recommend good ratchets. The cheap ones will get the job done, but they feel lousy in use - especially when flipping the levers between tighten and loosen. Buy good quality tools and they'll probably last forever.

You never waste money on good tools.

Here! Here! Absolutely nothing but truth in that statement.

Hex Wrenches are important to have quality.

I have the Craftsman Allen sockets... Last night the 5mm broke off in my Ducati's oil drain plug. Who would have expected Craftsman to snap.

But with Sears spiralling down hill, they are sending more jobs to China... I have one set made in the USA and the quality is much nicer than the newer set made in China.

I reached in the cabinet and just grabbed one thinking it would never break.

Generic Allen wreches always seem to round out the inside of the Hex bolt or round the end of the tool.