Question To Welders

Rice

• Member Contributer

I'm thinking of learning how to weld to be able to do my own little projects, like gutting exhaust, building racks from tubing, etc...

I'll get a How-To book or a CD and I'm trying to choose a suitable welder for the task(s).

From the research that I've done so far, MIG is the way to go for me. Furthermore, I see this flux core welder from HF:

44567.gif

I know that it may not be perfect and perhaps the $hittiest thing out there, but would it do the job on stainless, aluminum and chromoly sheet and tubing assuming that it isn't too thick?

I mean for a total beginner like myself, what should I watch out for?

I really don't want to spend 2-3 G on a welder, which I will use a couple of times a year.

This thing can be had for about $100 right now.

Thanks!

• Member Contributer
I'm thinking of learning how to weld to be able to do my own little projects, like gutting exhaust, building racks from tubing, etc...

I'll get a How-To book or a CD and I'm trying to choose a suitable welder for the task(s).

From the research that I've done so far, MIG is the way to go for me. Furthermore, I see this flux core welder from HF:

44567.gif

I know that it may not be perfect and perhaps the $hittiest thing out there, but would it do the job on stainless, aluminum and chromoly sheet and tubing assuming that it isn't too thick?

I mean for a total beginner like myself, what should I watch out for?

I really don't want to spend 2-3 G on a welder, which I will use a couple of times a year.

This thing can be had for about $100 right now.

Thanks!

You get what you pay for. Keep in mind different materials require different shielding gasses = multiple tanks.You may also need to change out the inner casing on the wire feed= multple spools.

I could be way off here but the last time I purchsed welders for our shop,I bought mig,tig and arc.

• Member Contributer

Thanks!

No shop here. Just me tinkering, trying this and that.