My Vfr Story

MrGrumpy83

An introduction to myself and my journey onto a VFR is in order ;)

My name is Tom, my friends call me Grumps. I started riding about 18 months ago on a Honda CB400. Great little bike and I've put 20,000km onto it in that time.

A few weeks after getting my restricted license I went on a group ride. A friend of a friend came along who was riding 5th gen VFR800. I was captivated by that bike and the passion with which the owner spoke about it. Not long after this I saw the 8th gen VFR and was instantly in love. I had to have one.

Fast forward 12 months and I've received my unrestricted license. I have been lusting after the 8th gen for the best part of a year. I was desperate to get on to one. The missus on the other hand, had other ideas. She wanted me to lose some weight. So, we struck a deal... I'd reduce my weight to 85kg and then I could look at upgrading.

I made this chart and stuck it on the fridge to keep me accountable.

post-34119-0-65363300-1443055970.jpg

Somewhere along the way, 92kg became the 'you can test ride them' point. And it was agreed that if the right bike for the right price came along, perhaps I could purchase it - provided I'd dropped below 92kg.

I started at 107kg in April and have worked hard since then. I hit 92kg about 3 weeks ago, although I had already test ridden a couple of VFRs at that point.

A fortnight ago I saw a used 2015 8th gen pop up for sale which appeared to be the right bike at the right price. I couldn't move on it quickly as I was in Indonesia - but planned to look when I returned to Australia. Unfortunately, I missed out on that bike but the dealer made me an impossible to refuse offer on a brand new 8th gen.

So last Saturday (September 20), I picked up my brand new bike. And I've loved every second of it since! I'm at 91kg now but the deal remains - I still have to get to 85kg. So while I'm happy, the hard work continues!

post-34119-0-54476700-1443055969.jpg