Just Bought A Vfr 1200

RogueWave

Hello,

I have been lurking for a while and I am impressed with the knowledge people have here regarding the VFR as well as bikes in general.

I recently purchased a 2010 VFR 1200. It has 3,400 miles on it and cost $9K. I bought it because of my familiarity with Honda bikes, I previously owned a 93' Nighthawk 750 and a 96' VFR 750.

I also bought it because of the automatic transmission. I want to enjoy riding without having to think about changing gears.

Although I have six years of experience riding, I have not been on a bike since 2002. My last memory riding was me flying over the handlebars because a women was looking somewhere other than where she was going.

When my bike was delivered, I had to ride it about 100 feet to my garage. I got on it and felt very uncomfortable. I put it in gear and then...nothing. It didn't move. I gave it a bit of gas and it wanted to take off like a racehorse in a starting gate. So I resisted the urge to use the brake and let off the gas and it started to coast. Very strange for a bike, certainly not how I remember. This all tells me I best retake the riding course I took in 96' before attempting to ride such a large, powerful bike. My Nighthawk has 65 hp. and the Interceptor has 91 hp. So I have a lot of respect for such a large machine. I am definitely not ready to take it out just yet.

If anyone wants to share with me some tips on how to handle DCT, I would appreciate it.

Cheers :)