Hello, From Central Florida

Guest DrJay

Guest DrJay

I Started riding on the street at age 14 in 1957 on an NSU Superfox. At 16 I got a Triumph 3T which Bob Leppan (of Gyronaut fame) built the engine for and which I rode till I graduated high school. I quit riding through college and grad school, but got back to riding a 650 Triumph in '72 after I got my first real job as a University professor. I presently ride only a couple of thousand miles a year, mainly on country roads. I've recently turned 70 and am slow and cautious now, but I still love riding and tinkering with bikes. All told I've been riding for 56 years with a 9 year hiatus.

I bought a '97 VFR in 2010 and joined VFRW at that time. This Februrary, after my retirement from my clinical psychology practice in October, I bought a non-running '86 VF500F with the promise to my wife that it would be a low budget project for a motor-head who loves working in his shop. It is running great now (albeit with some worrisome can chain noise) but still needs lots of detailing. I love V4 engines and am having a lot of fun learning about the Honda V4 idiosyncracies and lore. I'm probably more of a tinkerer than rider, but any time I don't ride for a couple of weeks and the weather is nice, I get a craving to get out on two wheels for an hour or two.

The VFRW site has been instrumental in getting my little 500 functioning, but there is a ton of knowledge here also and a more polite tone which I appreciate. I'll remain active on VFRW but hope to become a useful member here.

• Member Contributer

Welcome!

I sometimes get over to Brian's BBQ in Deland... but won't be riding for a couple of months until the heat and love bugs go away. :happy:

Yes, I'm taking the 500 out in a few minutes to flush the radiator and I'm not looking forward to the love bugs!

• Member Contributer

Welcome! It seems your experience is pretty common place, so I haven't really gone other to the "other" forum yet. Everyone's been so nice here!