Back tire stepping out... normal?

ccnaylor

• Member Contributer

Hi everyone, still a little new here. I got my 02 vfr this year. I have yet to put 1,000 miles on it (almost). The previous owner put new Michelin pilot roads on it new last year. They aren't very worn on the edges (not much time on the edge of them).

I take a turn last night, riding around, and not going to fast but I did have it leaned over a good amount, and accelerated out of it. Not wide open, but somewhat moderate. Then the back tire steps out. It was sliding for not even 2 seconds, and I still had control when I regained traction.

So my questions are these:

Did it happen because the tires are still "new" on the edges?

Under normal circumstances (tires, road conditions) should that happen on modest power output through a corner?

Thanks for any information you can give me. (I've been riding for 3 years)

• Member Contributer
Check your tire pressure??

It was what it should be when I last checked it (three weeks ago)

I'll check it tonight. For point of reference, do you think my symptoms show signs of over or under inflation?

• Member Contributer

Check to make sure you are not loosing coolent out your over flow tube, look to see if the end of the tube is dry. David.

Does it do it all the time? or just that one turn? Mine used to do that when I had Dunlops 204, now I have Pilot Powers and they just grab (no more sliding).

• Member Contributer
It was what it should be when I last checked it (three weeks ago)

I'll check it tonight.  For point of reference, do you think my symptoms show signs of over or under inflation?

Actually, either over or under inflation could cause a loss of traction. Over inflate and not enough of the tire will contact the road, under inflate and the tires will overheat and this also can cause loss of traction.