86 Vfr750 Vs 07 Vfr800

thor294

• Member Contributer

X post from the 6th gen forum (I just want as much input as I can get to help me make a decision :P)

I just put 2 new tires on my 86, and a friend of mine with a RWB 2007 just messaged me again asking me if I still wanted it (he ran it by me September last year... 3k miles on the 07 and he wants literally nothing for it...).

I know I will regret either decision I make.

In a perfect world, I would keep my '86, and buy the 2007. Let my father ride the 86 or just keep it to have it... but I am only a contractor at my job, still living at home, need to pay health insurance, and I don't think I could take a loan out to buy the 800 without getting some money (or my GF murdering me) from my dad for the 86 or selling it (I did put it in the classifieds on this site and other sites to see what I could get for it).

If I end up with the 2007 VFR800, are the real big upgrades a commander, intake(or just filter), slip ons, and sprockets (if i wanted)? will it make more power and get better MPG than my vfr750 (I average 35mpg on my bike, on a calm riding tank)...

I rode the 800 and what a difference. The digital gauges, the radial tires, bigger brakes... it is truely a different machine. I didn't really get to ride it hard because I was nervous of riding his bike. I am not sure if I will just regret ditching my 86 :(

Sorry for the long double post... I have never been so attached to a machine before in my life lol

621943_10151207247698072_671926717_o.jpg

• 1 month later...

If it were me, I'd keep the 86 if you can only have 1 (or get both if you can). The 86 has a cool factor you can't match with newer bikes, unless they are limited run examples or such. Performance, yes the 07 is obviously better but the 86 is still capable. Plus, you own the 86. No muss, no fuss. The early vfrs are getting harder to find every year. I'd surmise in another few years you'll seeing its value start climbing.