Traveling in Oregon? Here's a place to avoid!

SpiralGray

Four of us just returned from a trip. On the last night we stayed at the Woodsman Country Lodge in Crescent, OR (on hwy 97 south of Bend). My buddy and I have been staying there since 1999, and in fact stayed there just last month with our wives on a trip to Crater Lake (by car).

When we checked in we were told that this was the last time we'd be allowed to stay there when riding our motorcycles. The owners had had "problems" with motorcyclists, and instead of dealing with the problem people they decided to ban everyone based on their mode of transportation.

IMG_20120817_074911.jpg

I wonder if a group of Asians had caused trouble if they would put up a "NO ASIANS" sign.

At any rate, please inform all your friends, family, enemies, whatever that this establishment should be avoided.

Who are "bikers" anyway? I have found that almost everyone on a motorcycle is a decent person. The others? Well, they are called the "One Percenters" for a reason . . .

• Forum CEO

Just tell them your a motorcyclist not a biker! I would avoid gas stations if at all possible, getting gas in Oregon is ridiculous - I know its impossible but you will find out why! I dont know why they would cut off part of their business because of some idiot biker? Especially since you are established customers?

• Member Contributer

Oregon is I think 1 of 2 states that do not allow motorists to pump their own gas. It causes all sorts of problems with out of state motorists. Self service has been been voted on numerous times but always fails. There is an exception for motorcyclists - on the bike I just pull up and act like I know what I'm doing and usually they leave me alone. Don't try it in a car though - they'll go bananas.

Too bad about the motel - their loss. There are lots of places that welcome bikes. In Kamiah, Idaho the hotel I stayed at hands out clean rags and has a wash station for motorcycles - very welcoming.