Combined brakes and slow speed maneuvers... Tips?

Racer944

Hi Everyone;

I am still relatively new to bikes coming back into it after 25 years away. Got back into it three years ago and have been enjoying it immensely. This year I exchanged my Kawasaki Ninja 650R for a 2010 VFR1200 and I am in the process of getting used to the new bike.

One area I am having some issues with is slow speed maneuvers... While I was very confident of my abilities on my lighter Ninja, I am not confident on the VFR at all. I am trying to figure out what is causing me these issues. Is it just the weight and size increase of the new bike or is it the combined braking system throwing me off with the front braking part slowing me down more than I am used too? In slow speed drills I feather the clutch and use the back brake exclusively in these situations, so I am wondering if that's contributing to my issues. Any tips for slow speed work with this bike? Is it pretty much the same as any other bike or....?

I doesn't help my confidence that I have recently dropped it once after botching a U-turn (not 100% sure if I used too much back brake or not enough speed, or....), Basically I got my foot down but the bike had gone over just a bit too far for me to hold it so it went down on its side in a parking lot... Obviously I did scratch up my cowls and broke the gear pedal... but my confidence and pride took the biggest hit...

Any tips/advice is appreciated...

Cheers;

Eric

A lot of it is 'eyes'. Where you look is where you'll go. Doing a u-turn means looking to the exit of the turn as you get started. Also a light tough on the brakes helps.

You can still use feathering of the clutch and the rear brake - just be a lot lighter on the brake so you don't engage the front too much. The system on our bikes works well even at low speeds.

Practise makes perfect. :)

• Member Contributer