Suspension Obsession

FHR

• Member Contributer

Ive only had my 06 VFR 800A for a few months and have only ridden a couple thousand miles on it when the weather has permitted on my days off work. I got a couple rides in last week. Today it snowed. I really love the bike. The only thing I have noticed that has caused me concern (not counting the looming specter raised by all the posts about electrical problems) is the suspension.

First, let me say I have very little knowledge or experience wrenching. I did put a fork kit and a Fox shock on my 83 KTM dirt bike years ago, which did wonders BTW. I am only speaking from the perspective of what I feel when riding. I feel as though the bike, the front wheel actually, is not maintaining good contact with the road during turns on the less than perfect road surfaces we have in my area. I also hear a clunk sound periodically which gives me the impression (and I may be wrong) that it is on the rebound stroke in the front forks.

I have read and re-read the many posts about suspension fixes in this forum including the many helpful, knowledgeable posts by members like BaileyRock, JamieDaugherty and SEBSPEED about retrofitting shocks from other bikes to accomplish results on a budget. Im trying to absorb all of that sometimes conflicting info and make sense of it. But it is coming slow (Im old and dont learn as quickly as I once did.)

I weigh 225 lbs, so, from what Ive learned here so far, the factory settings are for much lighter riders than me and the stock suspension is undersprung, i.e. the spring rates of the forks and shock are not strong enough to support my weight and to adjust proper sag while keeping sufficient travel available, (not to mention valve issues.)