Aluminum or Carbon Fiber

Graves

OK all, I'm trying to decide if I should go with the Aluminum and save some money or go all out with the Carbon Fiber exhaust system for My VFR. This is in reference to this DEAL in The Bargain finder section.

Is there any real advantage with going with carbon Fiber over Aluminum? Weight of the unit isn't much of an issue as the rider(Me) could stand to lose a pound or fifty as well.

Is one easier to maintain then the other? Is there a big difference in sound quality? Let me know what you all think as I have no experience with Sport bike exhaust, my previous bikes were all cruisers where you just choose the diameter of straight pipe and add Chrome.

Thanks,

CG

The carbon is easier to clean as it'll just take a wipe with a damp rag to get the dirt off - aluminum likes to be shined up at least once a year. On the other hand, the carbon will become UV damaged over time and deteriorate, while the aluminum will last a long, long time.

The carbon will naturally have a bit more "bass" in the tone.

If you don't mind shiny pipes, I'd say go for the aluminum.

I think CF cans on V4s have a "throatier" sound than any metal cans. Plus, dutch said above, CF will be cooler to the touch, so if you ever bungee stuff down (using the passenger pegs as mounting points) or use soft luggage/saddlebags, you're better off with the CF.

OTOH, aluminum will better match the finish of the hardware on your bike, esp. the passenger pegs, etc.

• Member Contributer

If the CF used is high quality, it should take an extremely long time before you see any UV damage. Likely not in the lifetime of the bike.