AM I the only one that HATES Motorcycle Electrical diagrams?

TomG33

• Member Contributer

AS an Electrical Engineer, I am used to working with Schematics that are intuitive, and easy to follow.

It seems that the traditional Automotove style of doing Electrical schematics is more tuned to showing how

the Bike is physically wired then offering an easy to understand representation of how the machine is supposed to work.

I HATE tracing black lines around a page of the existing drawing, to work out how something is supposed to work, I always seem to jump tracks

and wind up at the wrong destination, Or forget where a particular wire came from.

Am I alone on this ??????? Honestly !!!!!!!

Instead of just Bitch'n and Moan'n I decided to have a go at making another drawing that is a little easier to follow.

Naturally I have not finished this, and only covered the basic fuses and lights and switches, but I was

wondering if anybody else sees a need for a different view of the electrical side of our machines.

This is still "WOrk In Progress" and I will start on the ignition side of things when I get further inspiration,

Or more rainy weekends, which ever comes first.

The drawing is based on the post 05 schematic that someone from this forum supplied, so I am assuming it is 6th generation

standard VFR.

I acknowledge that the original schematic is a very useful and accurate tool and in no way advocating it's demise, but

I am just wondering if there is a place for a more logical control drawing so we can easily figure out how the dammed things are supposed to work

Comments please

• Member Contributer

Instead of just Bitch'n and Moan'n I decided to have a go at making another drawing that is a little easier to follow.

Naturally I have not finished this, and only covered the basic fuses and lights and switches, but I was

wondering if anybody else sees a need for a different view of the electrical side of our machines.