First Bike Poll

Guest avvetteguy

VFR as 1st Bike  

206 members have voted

1. 1. Would you recommend the new 2007 VFR as a first bike?

• Yes
    • No

Guest avvetteguy

I'm curious to see what the reaction is to getting a 2007 as a first bike assuming that $ isnt the driving factor. Im more curious from being able to handle the bike as a first bike.

I'm curious to see what the reaction is to getting a 2007 as a first bike assuming that $ isnt the driving factor. Im more curious from being able to handle the bike as a first bike.
i see 1 person voted yes and i love to see who did that?

im still a noob to riding with 8 months under my belt but ive owned my 04 vfr for 3.

way too much power for a noob.

throttle is way to twitchy that even experianced riders do complain.

mix that with the power it will get a noob into deadly territory fast.

i rode dirt bikes most my younger years and im 36 now but even tho i started riding recently i was even advised my

learning bike an 89 600 ninja may be too much power.and it very well could have been also had it been running 100% perfect those first few 1000 miles.

its stock at 78HP.

even now with my 8k miles under my belt even my old ninja can get me in trouble fast if im not carefull.

my vfr still hasnt seen full throttle in any gear,nor been over 9k rpms.

my experiance just isnt there yet.

my only saving grace of being somewhat of a noob on a vfr has been age and self control.

but i would never have started on the vfr.

if i did wreck it and total the ninja id be out $1500

wreck a new vfr and its $10-$11k

and you dnt even wanna see how much new plastic costs.

get a early 90's non supersport.

• Member Contributer

Because I don't know you personally, I answered no to be safe.

We went through this a lot in a thread last week. The simple result is it all depends on you and how well you know yourself and your limitations.