Bore & Stroke

Hi guys, I recently bought an 02 VFR and have fallen in love. I am certain I will keep this bike for as longs as it lives, so with that in mind and 54,000km on the clock I've started thinking ahead to engine rebuilds and the such and figured if I'm gonna have it long enough for that to happen I should look into getting it overbored and possibly stroked as well. I've done a fair amount of research on the overbore so far and have come to the conclusion that  74mm maybe even a 75mm will work, albeit with a lot of work I'd have to do.

My main question I guess would be is it possible to have the stroke increased as well?  I'm new to V4 engines so I'm just not educated in such things and have come up with nothing via normally reliable google.

• Member Contributer

Someone with specific knowledge will be along soon, but if I'm not mistaken the RC46 engine (VFR800Fi and VTEC), (72 x 48mm, 781 and 782cc), was a stroked version of the RC45 engine (72 x 46mm. 749cc), so there may be no physical space to increase the stroke any further.  Overbore is possible, both using the (obsolete) Dynamo Humm big bore kits as well as using CBR 929 pistons as detailed elsewhere on the forum.  The other (obsolete) option was a supercharger from A&A Performance.  There aren't a lot of VFR hot rodders...but you will probably find them on VFRD!

Ciao,

Yeah I read Mohawk & HighSide's threads on the overbore's and am certain I can do them, but I'd like to make what we all wanted Honda to do with these and make a litre bike. Or at least I'd like to make something as close to that as possible whilst still being a reliable daily commuter kind of bike.

• Member Contributer