Pirelli Angel Front Tire Issues?

thebigtea

Good day everyone-

So as some of you know I just recently purchased a VFR to replace my deer kilt' old VFR.

On said new VFR the previous owner has a Mitch Power 3 on the rear and a P-rel Angel on the front.

Normally I am not a mix and match tire guy, but I have heard it's not the big of a deal. However after hoping off the T30 shod dead VFR the handling on the new bike is odd at best and damn scary at worst.

In the rain:

I ride in the rain quite a lot. This front tire makes me fear for my life. Honestly I was so terrified in a late October rain shower that I pulled over to the side and waited it out. I have never done that before.

In the dry:

The bike constantly feels like front wants to fall away from me. It tips in nice and feels fine to about 10 degrees and then I constantly feel like I am loosing the front.

Question:

Is this a terrible tire? Did I get a dud? Bad mix with the Power 3 (awesome feeling tire btw)? Do I suck at riding bike now?

Pressure is good, suspension geo looks good. I just can't help feeling like there is something goofy in there. Or up there. Or around there. Somewhere.

First thing come spring I am spooning on a Power 3 front, but I am curious if anyone else has had similar experiences.

Thanks!

Tea

• Member Contributer

You may want to make sure they aren't mounted backwards. That said, each tire from different manufacturers and even from different model lines within the same manufacturer has a slightly different profile even if they are the right size and designed to work in unison. Some tires are more rounded and others are more oval shaped. Depending on their use, they may be even more squared off. My front tires turn into triangles by the time they are ready for a change after some good mountain runs and start to feel like you describe. They want to fall in part way with little effort, then need to be pushed onto the far edge.