New Member With 83Vf750

Guest bperez2357

Guest bperez2357

so I'm new to the whole bike thing and finally decided that after restoring 2 cars its time to start something new... so while on my local craigs list I spotted this vf and had to have it I traded a second hand firearm for the bike it is all original and as far as I can tell is not missing any pieces the motor has 20,312 miles and turns freely I have an idea on where to start the tricky part is after being parked for 2years should I do a compression test and try to crank and get.it running or.should I have the engine machined and honed when I find the gaskets any help is appreciated thanks in advance

list of things that I have found wrong

*brakes stick

*gas tank minor rust on the inside

*starter does not engage

*blinkers broken off

*clutch and brake handle broken

*messy wiringlZ

*body panels cracked with road rash

*jacked up seat which does not click in place

post-28542-0-86127300-1381474261.jpg

post-28542-0-97747100-1381474293.jpg

post-28542-0-98466600-1381474311.jpg

• Member Contributer

Welcome to VFRD from across the pond!

Converting weapons into ploughs, that is good :goofy:

thanks guys ....question for you all the bike has been sitting for 2years carbs have been cleaned need to sync em...would it ve better to change the gaskets the the engine or change and top the fluids and run it as is ?

• 4 weeks later...

Heya Perez,

Looks like we're both newbies with the early VFR's. Just picked up an '83 750R. Runs well, lotsa fiberglass on the chin cracked, needs a new kickstand (the one on it someone made, but not well and interferes with the shift lever if you put the lever down at a comfortable level), has headlight low-beam problems and turn signal relay's probably fried, fuel gauge is reading 'zero' with a full tank.... it'll be an interesting time.

Have fun!

-S

• Member Contributer