Opinion On This Battery: Xtax12-Bs Xtreme Permaseal Agm Battery

marriedman

My battery died due to my own stupidity, and I need to buy another one. I was expecting to spend about $100, but when I went to BatteriesPlus they were starting at $50! I talked to the guy working and he said that the only difference between their "top shelf" model and the next lower model is the warranty. 2 years vs 1 year.

The one that I am considering is the following:

http://www.batteriesplus.com/product/32748-XTAX12--BS-Xtreme-Permaseal-AGM-Battery/558-CC/4419-Motorcycle-Batteries/137093-Honda/VFR800FI-Interceptor/800CC-1998-to-2001.aspx

Anyone have experience with this battery?

• Member Contributer

That looks ok. I have no experience with that specific battery, but I've had good luck with parts store brands and WalMart batteries as long as I keep it on a Battery Tender.

And I killed a "premium" Yuasa in a year without a Tender and without regular use.

So, I recommend a Battery Tender and whatever new battery you like! :fing02:

How much difference was there in price between the 2 batteries? If the 1 year warranty battery is $50 and the 2 year is $80, it might be worth the extra $30.

I bought a battery locally from Advance Auto Parts. I don't remember exactly what I paid, but it was a 1 year warranty battery. It was dead in 1 year and 8 days. The original Yuasa lasted 5 years. After the Advance Auto Battery, I went back to another Yuasa and got 4 years out of that one. I now have a 12 cell MOTY in there. It's been in about a year now, so we'll see how long it lasts.

I ride several times a week normally. If I don't ride for more than a week, the battery tender goes on the bike (until I got the MOTY battery). Not sure why the Advance Auto battery didn't last, but I won't be buying another one from there unless I am stranded somewhere and that is the only option.