Best textile jacket brand for durability

kaldek

• Member Contributer

Folks, I need your advice on getting a decent textile (waterproof) jacket, with durability.

I have been riding since 2001, and am now on my sixth jacket. Five of these were the Aussie "Dririder" brand, and the last one was RST. The list of problems I've had includes:

• Broken zipper tags
  • Broken zipper runners
  • Velcro coming un-stitched
  • Waterproof capability disappearing (so that I get very wet inside my so-called waterproof jacket)
  • Zipper itself coming apart (the appear to glue the zips to the material now!)

Right now I'm not interested in finding the cheapest option, I just need to find a freakin' jacket that won't fall apart on me and will last for years and stay waterproof!

i've had a Joe Rocket 'Meteor' for about 5 years now. structurally it has not failed except a zipper pull tab, the little fabric thingy at the end of the zipper, but that is easy to fix. the zippers and velcro are still good. it has faded from the sun.

the waterproofness is no longer there, but i think that is something you have to maintain with treatments like 'Scotchgaurd' or something like that. i live in the desert so rain is welcome and you dry quickly. i've been very happy with it.

• Member Contributer

I have been riding with a Tour Master Air Intake for the last 4 years. Velcro on sleeves wore out and I replaced it with snaps. It it great from 32 degree F to 95 degree F because of open weave and 2 liners. It is still water proof.