Boot Suggestions?

Guest sixshooter

Guest sixshooter

I've been wearing these Sketchers knock off biker boots for a couple years now, and I destroy a pair about every 8 months... I wear them every day, all day. Anyone have a suggestion for a good (durable, comfortable, water-proof, non astronaut spacesuit-looking) all around boot?

• Member Contributer
I've been wearing these Sketchers knock off biker boots for a couple years now, and I destroy a pair about every 8 months... I wear them every day, all day. Anyone have a suggestion for a good (durable, comfortable, water-proof, non astronaut spacesuit-looking) all around boot?

I used to ride in normal leather workboots, which I was wearing when I lowsided my bike. It was a good thing I was going slow, because the laces were completely gone. Now whenever I ride, I use a boot that has more than just laces or velcro.

I'm using an Icon Accelerant boot. (http://www.motorcycle-superstore.com/1/1/36/16961/ITEM/Icon-Accelerant-Waterproof-Boots.aspx)

It has a ski-type latch in addition to laces, is SUPER comfortable.

But, the waterproofing doesn't last long, it is not proving to be very durable, and you may find it looks like an Astronaut boot. So, I'd recommend it on comfort, but not on durability. sad.gif sorry.

The other thing I've found with boots is that to get adequate ankle protection, you have the boot has to be stiff and go very high, which means most boots that are safe dig into the back of my ankle.

Good luck!

I recently picked up a pair of Alpinestars S-MX 5 Vents that I've been very happy with. Got them for a killer deal because the shop was 20% off everything.

- Patrick

• Member Contributer

I have been running the Alpinestars Supertech R boots, (Black with Red trim) and cannot say enough good about them.

Supertech R boots

They are not cheap, but......

I almost had to have my right foot amputated in college from a football injury that got infected.