Textile Vs Leather?

Guest PJ_C

Guest PJ_C

Currently I have Joe Rocket Alter Ego textile jacket and pants... Love the way they fit. I am just curious as to how well textile holds up in a fall or slide vs. leather. I can only imagine that leather is stronger, but how much? Is the textile gonna protect me any? I have been using the textile for the past 3 years, but I just want to know that I will be safe if I ever go down?

I saw the thread about the perforated leather and thats what I am considering. Gets a little hot here in Texas! I see a few good deals on newenough and other websites and have been looking for a while. Just looking for input or experiences... thanks in advance.

PJ

• Replies 75
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I doubt you will find anyone on here that says textile is as good as leather. Good gear is the gear you will wear as opposed to leaving at home because it's too hot/cold/rainy. etc. I own both and use both depending on, you guessed it, hot/cold/rainy, etc.

• Member Contributer

+2. I doubt anyone will say textile is better for protection. For me I balance the type of riding I will be doing, weather etc. into my choice for the day. That being said, I never ride without full protection of some kind no matter how hot it gets. For the hottest conditions I too wear Alto Ego. I have a feeling that all that mesh in the jacket is barely better than nothing at all.

• Member Contributer
Good gear is the gear you will wear as opposed to leaving at home because it's too hot/cold/rainy. etc. I own both and use both depending on, you guessed it, hot/cold/rainy, etc.

+1000

Leather is better (especially in long slides) but it's just sucks in hot sticky weather. I make sure the textile and/or mesh gear I have allows me to use hard armor which I believe is more important than material at typical street speeds.

• Member Contributer