I Am Soaking Wet

oyama

• Member Contributer

Well, actually I am talking about my leathers.

Off topic:

Sunday I rode my bike from Daytona to Orlando. It was a 72 miles ride that started with hot 91F (32C) weather. I checked with Tinyminds that the weather in Orlando was in fact sunny and that there was no danger for serious rain. I am not afraid of a little rain, but if it was going to rain harder I would have taken my rain gear with me. So, I started riding in my usual 2-piece black leather suit, boots, gloves and helmet.

After a few miles on the highway I felt like I was going to melt--even at 80mph the 91F(32C) heat was killing me and it did not change for the next 50-60 miles. <_< After that it got worse. The traffic slowed down on I-4 to 50mph, and without the wind I felt more miserable. I was thinking to myself that I should have ridden in jeans. About 5 miles later I was glad I did not. I saw that I had to ride through a giant black/gray sky. I knew I was going to get wet, but I had no clue as to just how wet I was going to get... about 5 miles from my exit I started praying, "Please do not start to rain now, please!"

Well, it did not work. It not only started to rain but it was pouring down like there was no tomorrow. sad.gif Of course the car drivers lost all of their driving skills. They were driving so slow that I was only able to use my first gear and even then I had to pull my clutch in many times to slow down to that 4-5mph speed that they were able to safely do. The temperature also dropped 23 degrees to 69F(20C). Now, when I am riding in the rain (with the appropriate speed) usually I do not get rained on too much, because the wind shield and the front fairings deflect a lot of rain. In the 4-5 mph case they do not work so well. A few minutes later I started to feel some very interesting sensations.