Weird wear on Conti Road Attack front

Guest daemontrym

Guest daemontrym

The tire is cupping because they have 4500 miles on them, but its cracking in between the tread. Right were they have the deep oblong shaped C's in the middle looks raised a bit and in the those tread grooves it looks like its dry rotting. The sides have no cracks at all and I have a feeling that even knowing I am only about half way through the tread life I have to replace it. The rear tire is flattening some but it doesn't have any cracks in the grooves at all. The bike handles fine I am just scared that I am going to have a blowout while I am riding 2up in the mountains.

The bike did sit for a long time before I started riding around the end of may this year. It was out of commission due to a Chicago winter before I moved to Az and then had to sit for a year long deployment due to being recalled from the IRR. I maybe put 1000 miles before I put it away and since I have been back I put a little over 3500 on them so far.

I just want to know if I should just ride it out till they wear or if I should replace them with a new set. I am betting on the latter, but will be optimistic.

• Member Contributer

I would put a new set on, just for the piece of mind. I don't think you would have even bothered to ask if it wasn't bothering you huh? Sounds like they are at least 3 years old?

BTW, if your riding in the desert now get used to putting on a set every 4500-5000 miles, the heat in the summers here eat them up fast.

• Member Contributer

I figure that if I get 4k out of a set that I've gotten my $ worth. And anyway - a new set of tires is cheaper than plastic and medical bills. Just my $.02.

If the cracks are just at the base of the tread and are small, don't worry about it. That part of the tire flexes quite a bit. The Metzler Tourance on the rear of my bike did that. After wearing it out and getting a new tire, i can see where it is flexing at the base just like the old tires.