TEXTILE VS. LEATHER

flavadave

• Member Contributer

Overpants VS. Chaps :beatdeadhorse: was clear that most riders would rather fight overpants on and off rather than leave their butts open for raod rash.

On a side note, it did seem funny that although most men are worried about their own butts they had no issue with seeing the ladies in chaps. Safety seems to be localized to on side of the brain unless the otherside takes over. Butt (see what I did there?) this is different issue, and I am no expert. My girl is the best seat cover I have ever seen (stick that in your after market).

TEXTILE VS. LEATHER

What are the Pros and Cons of each? What style of or type of rider are you? What drives you to buy what you buy when it comes down to dropping the cash on the cashiers counter?

• Member Contributer

If you plan on going over the legal speed limit, then it is leather all the way. It is the best protection against abrasion. Period.

It also looks damn good. (on some people :cool:)

However, for me, it is not as practical as textile.

Textile is substantially cheaper, lighter, more versatile in hot/cold weather and can be water proof. It also takes up less storage room.

Case in point.

On my commute, I put ski pants over my work pants. (yeah, I know - no protection), but the same can be applied to the proper textile mot. pants. When I arrive to work, I unzip the sides and toss them into the top box along with my helmet, gloves and other paraphernalia.

I've been rained on, experienced, cold and hot changeovers during the day and even ... AHEM... tested the abrasion resistance on several occasions. The textile pants have passed all tests with flying colors and I didn't have to spend too much coin for them.