GPS - Car vs Motorcycle

Chappy8

• Member Contributer

I've been doing some searching and have to find any conclusive evidence. Has anyone ever had a failure issue with a non motorcycle specific GPS due to your VFR or other bike(s) vibration? I'm thinking of using a Nuvi 765T or something similar along with an aquabox. The reason I ask is my wife bought me a TomTom Rider 2 for x-mas. It's a heck of a gift but I'm thinking I could go lower cost and get a better dual purpose GPS. Mainly looking for an internal speaker for use in the car w/o requiring a headset w/ bluetooth capabilities as well.

Let's hear your failures or successes...heck even recommendations are welcome.

Scott

• Member Contributer

I've used a cheep Tom Tom One for over a year and have had NO problems except glare.

• Member Contributer

I've been using my Garmin Nuvi 680 for well over three years now, and in all kinds of temperatures from freezing to 100F, and for hours in heavy rain with only a zip lock baggie over it for protection. It takes a licking and keeps on ticking!

Keep in mind, though, that the Nuvi models do not support Bluetooth headsets, so you won't have wireless voice commands to your headset like you would with the Zumo models. They do support Bluetooth phones, though.

• Member Contributer

Been using Nuvi 350 for 5 years w/o any issues.

Just have to remember to wrap it with plastic bag when it gets wet.

Actually met a guy on a GS Beemer who lost his Nuvi due to rain during one of the rides.