Best Bike Stand Option

didit

Question

• Member Contributer

Very soon now, I will be preping the VFR for the season. This will include a complete exhaust re / re, to the Motad SS catless headers

and Ti Remus full exhaust (yes I will take full install pics).

I really enjoy putting the bike up, off the side stand when in my garage.

What is the best source for and ease of use, type of bike stand for a 6th Gen? We are talking one man operation all the time.

Also, is it best to get a front stand too, at the same time?

Comments and telling me where to go is invited (yes, I did a search and looked for previous threads, but found nun).

16 answers to this question

• Member Contributer

I use a Pitbull rear stand on my '93. As for the year gap, I don't see where there would be any differences in terms of ease of use or design.

I've been using mine for roughly 1 1/2 years, and it has held up great. One man operation you say? Piece of cake with a Pitbull. :fing02:

do you want to remove the center stand, or think you have too? reason i ask is i put 99 catless headers on and have no issue leaving the ctr stand on...just had to add a rubber stop so that it rested against the rubber instead of the pipes.

• Member Contributer

Pitbull are the best I have used, and worth the price IMHO.

Get the convertible front stand - it can be used as a normal front stand that supports under the fork legs, or as a stem stand.

The stem stand makes it easy to work on the forks and is more stable than the fork leg option, but it is a PITA to put it on the stem stand because of all the brake lines and crap in the way, so for every day use the bottom of fork stand is better.

• Member Contributer
do you want to remove the center stand, or think you have too?

I have seen many who attached a small rubber stopper to the stand itself. I am thinking more on the amount of times I never use it while out on the road.