Problem

jekrumpe

2010 w/46k, DAM exhaust, no other mods. Cruising along at about 30MPH yesterday and the bike died. Hit the starter and she fired right up again. Going to work today--65MPH same thing, except it would not start right back up. Pulled to the side and she started. Both times this happened shortly after I started riding. Both times I rode another 15 min or so without issue. Any ideas where to start looking???

Thanks!

• Member Contributer

Bad, or mal-adjusted kickstand switch, bad kill switch, bad tip-over switch, bad ignition switch. Those are the easiest ways to kill the engine while it is running. Eliminate the easy/obvious stuff first.

Knight - you type faster than I do...................

Bad, or mal-adjusted kickstand switch, bad kill switch, bad tip-over switch, bad ignition switch. Those are the easiest ways to kill the engine while it is running. Eliminate the easy/obvious stuff first.

Knight - you type faster than I do...................

My timezone gives me an unfair advantage. It has to do with wormhole theory I think.

I agree with the above gentleman. I would also check the battery cables as well, when loose they can cause all kinds of crazy symptoms

Good point. Jekrumpe did you just start riding for he season, aka just installed the battery? Or perhaps you ride year round given the high mileage?

Ride all year and have a lithium ion battery, so I don't think that is the issue. Broke down on the side of the road going home last night and she would not start at all. So, no opportunity to check any of your ideas. Nice guy on a Harley stopped, went and got his trailer and hauled me in to the dealer! Hope to know more soon.

• Member Contributer

OP - when you say the bike died, was it just the engine that cut out or did all the electrics go off as well?

• Member Contributer

Sorry your bike died on you. The plus side is now it should be easier to find the problem since it is constant, as opposed to intermittent.