Can One Run Two Shorai Or Ballistic Batteries On Our Vfrs?

Beck

.....maybe wired parallel to come up with some sort of "mega" battery system that might solve a lot of undercapacity problems we encounter.

A dealer parts saleman told me that these Li batteries charge so quickly with conventional battery chargers after they are drained down (something like 10 minutes max?) does that mean that they do not require as much from our alternators and that we can run two Li batteries on our bikes without taxing the charging system too much??

I'm not an electrical expert, so please be kind....

• Member Contributer

I am running a Lithium Iron Phosphate battery from MotyDesigns. --- Some stuff -

-- I havent had any experience of this draining down, but if one did, there is a special charger used for it, so the different internal cells will be "balanced." I would use a conventional charger only as a last resort.

- I have heard that these do charge fast, but like I mentioned, I havent needed to find out.

- These batterys are temperature sensitive, and some vendors are upsizing the recommendations to compensate for the lost of punch at lower temps. Still I wouldnt go on a trip and leave mine outside if I knew the temps were gonna drop say sub 50s. (mine has a quick connect so its no big deal.)

- For winter, I just bring mine inside to avoid any cold exposure on it. Over the course of about 5 to 6 months sitting inside, the battery only dropped a tenth of a volt and when I installed it for riding season, it was something like 13.4 volts. No trickle maintenance charger required. I really like that.

- If you decide to run one of these, your charging system should be in top shape.

- There are 4, 8, & 12 cell sizes. I think I even have seen a 16. (Mine is an 8) -- Look into a 12 if you are conserned about capacity. I havent run into any issues with mine at all.