New to the VFR: Have Questions, Need Opinions.

Guest Onyx

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to the VFR and trying to learn as much as I can about it. The bike I need will be used for a 70 mile round trip commute and the VFR seems to be the best bike considering it's range and riding position. What should I look out for when looking over a VFR? Any obvious problem areas or things that go amiss with higher mileage V4s?

I was hoping to get the forum's opinion on a bike I'm considering, here is the link:

http://www.cycletrader.com/listing/2006-Honda-Vfr800-Interceptor-101511847

I was reading the high mileage thread and the numbers I was seeing were encouraging. Is the mileage on this VFR too high to consider for the asking price? Any advice is welcome. Thanks in advance.

• Member Contributer

I can't answer specific's with the latter models but my '94 has given me no problems besides normal maint. for the 65k I have put on here over the past 5 1/2 years :fing02: I do not think you can go wrong with any VFR!

• Member Contributer

If all you want is a bike for a daily commute, get a Suzuki Burgman :tongue:

Now, if you also want a sexy looking ride, capable of spirited riding, touring 2-up, I think you have come to the right address....

Cannot help you on price, bikes in NL are way more expensive (read taxed)

• Member Contributer

He states 4900 dollars in the body of the advertisement, but it shows 4400 in the bold print section of the ad. I think if you can get it for 4400 or less it would be a good deal.

Don't let the mileage worry you. these things are built for longevity. I have over 42,000 trouble free miles on my 2003 and she gets ridden pretty vigorously at times. There are many VFR's that have seen triple digit mileage.

He states 4900 dollars in the body of the advertisement, but it shows 4400 in the bold print section of the ad. I think if you can get it for 4400 or less it would be a good deal.