Making A PowerBronze Hugger work

enzed_viffer

I decided to start a new thread topic for this, in case anyone who currently has a Powerbronze hugger, or who comes across one at a good price (like perhaps someone PAYS them to take it) might be helped to make the thing work.

Unlike most huggers, this hugger doesn’t replace the chainguard, but is designed to go over the top of it. Not a bad idea, but it means it’s rather bulky looking, something I have yet to address with the laminate trimmer (I don’t have a Dremel). I’ve decided to live with it for a while and then decide whether to trim it to make it a bit more svelte, or do radical surgery and cut the whole rear part off.

I may just take Miguel’s (HS) suggestion and slather it with decals. Trouble is, I have only very Large Elka ones or very small Shoei ones.

The PB hugger is made of ABS, and is rather thin (around 1.5mm). I toyed with the idea of fiberglassing the underside to stiffen it, but I have no experience with this, and didn’t want to throw more money at paying someone else to do it. However, this might be a good option for someone else.

Moulding: It’s not a good shape, not trimmed properly, and has a prominent lip. The second thing I did after test-fitting the thing to see if it would work was to get the heat gun out, soften the edges above the tire, flatten them out, and trim them with some shears.