paul77

paul77

• Member Contributer

I can’t understand how a full exhaust would, in itself, effect the VTEC. My understanding is that it is predominantly controlled by oil pressure change, which an exhaust should not alter. There is probably also a bit of “electrikery” involved, that might best be explained by Grum and others. Given that you would have had to plug and unplug a few things, to get the old headers out, and new in, you should first check all those things are back as they were.

I’m as much of a mechanic as I am a rocket scientist, so take anything I say with a grain of salt. Others here will chime in soon!

• Member Contributer

I suspect that something was intentionally or unintentionally unplugged to aid in the installation. 

• Member Contributer

Agree with above, you may have disturbed something with the install, or you're expecting it to operate below the required engine temp. Perhaps your exhaust mod has had a positive effect on the smoothness to 4 valve ops!

Is your engine temperature indication normal and your Fi light off?

VTEC ops relies on.

- Sidestand switch.

- Coolant temp above 65degC 149degF.

- Engine rpm above 6800.

The VTEC spool valve is mounted in the Vee and if you disturbed its wiring you would most likely force a Fi Fault Code of 27.

Guess there is always a chance the spool valve is jammed closed! You may have to get access to the valve located in the Vee to do some checks re Service Manual.

• Member Contributer